Clarifiers, Significators, Jumpers, and Tarot Order

Today I would like to discuss some aspects of tarot that are not always addressed. Each has a purpose and can be used or can occur during a tarot reading for yourself or a querent.

First, let’s start with clarifiers. A clarifier card(s) is one or two cards you draw for clarification of a reading. Example: Let’s say you pull a Two of Swords. This card symbolizes some difficult or challenging decision that must be made. There is a choice between two things. In this instance, you might want to pull two more cards to get clear on what these choices involve. Clarifier cards help to clarify the reading. But here is a little warning. Clarifiers should be done only when you need more about a card reading. And, before you pull clarifiers, be sure you are clear on what exactly it is you want to be clarified. Be careful and don’t just pull clarifiers until you see the response you want. Use clarifiers sparingly and carefully.

Now let’s move on to significators. A significator is a card you pull before the reading. This is a card you select specifically. It is not random and it is not a part of the reading. You can pull a significator to make the reading more personal. Example: Let’s say you have a client who is in her 20s and is a Virgo. You may want to pull the Page of Pentacles because the page represents an approximate age querent and the suit of pentacles represents the element of Earth. Now with the Page of Pentacles set aside, you go ahead with the reading and the querent is able to see themselves more fully in the reading. The use of Court Cards is just one way to identify a significator. You might also use the major arcana, depending on where the querent is in her journey. If that 20-something-year-old Virgo has come to ask about relationships you might use The Lovers card as a significator. If that same person is rebelling against conformity and tradition, seeking to set her own path, you might choose The Hierophant. Feel free to practice the use of significators for yourself or your querent if you feel comfortable doing so.

Next, let’s talk about jumpers. Jumping cards are the cards that seem to “jump” out of the deck as you are shuffling. Sometimes people just pick up the cards and insert them back into the deck and continue shuffling. If you are doing a reading with intention, everything is part of the reading, the smells, sounds, sights, and feelings are all part of the reading. So here’s how you handle jumpers. Ask the querent what they were thinking at the time that the card jumped out. The law of attraction allows cards to become visible according to one’s thoughts. If you get nothing from this, then make a mental note of the card and continue shuffling. If the jumper card reappears in the tarot reading, it means the card has great significance, particularly in this reading. Make sure to address it. If the jumper card does not show up in the reading, it could be that there is another issue or question that needs attention.

Now let’s talk about the order of tarot. You know that the major arcana has a flow. The major arcana is a metaphor for major life events It is a journey of self-actualization. But it is one that never really ends. We go through the 22 cards of the major arcana, only to start again at 0-The Fool. But what about the minor arcana? The minor arcana cards move from Ace to King. Ace to ten are called pip cards and then the page, knight, queen, and king are called court cards. The suits are wands, cups, swords, and pentacles. The minor arcana cards represent the more everyday aspects of our lives. If we start with the suit of wands, we begin with passion. We begin with a fire in the belly that asks us to stop and consider how we are being creative. For example, the Ace of Wands is about passion and the desire to create. This moves through to the Ten of Wands which represents accomplishment and responsibility, and finally to the King of Wands, representing leadership and overcoming challenges. Each suit is similar but we begin with the suit of wands, the element of fire, passion, desire, energy, and activity. Next, is the suit of cups. Cups represent our emotions surrounding daily living. You begin with fire in the belly and then consider your feelings toward the life you want to create. The suit of cups is represented by the element of water, emotions, relationships, and intuition. Next is the suit of swords. After you have the passion and feelings you begin to think about what you are creating. Swords are represented by the element of air, intellect, thought, communication, and conflict. Last is the suit of pentacles or coins. Having moved through our passion, emotions, and intellect, it now time to do the work in the physical world. The suit of Pentacles is represented by the element of earth, work, physical health, practicality, and money.

As always read according to your intuition. Trust yourself first. These are guidelines designed to add to your knowledge base.

Peace and love,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s