Valentine’s Day–Philautia Day

February 14th is a national holiday in the U.S.--Valentine's Day. In 2017 ABC News calculated the cost of Valentine's day and came up with the following: Total spending for the day surpasses $18.2 billion $4.3 billion is spent on jewelry $2 billion is spent on flowers including 250 million roses $1.7 billion is spent on [...]

Perfect v. Perfectionism

Recently I overheard a conversation about the difference between being perfect and striving for perfectionism. The conversation really moved me so I thought I might share some thoughts here for you all. Naturally, this is expressed in the spiritual realm that I prefer to work in. Let's start with PERFECTIONISM. Perfectionism is a dis-ease. I [...]

Let it go

We are now into 2019. This is January, the first month of the new year. January gets its name from the Roman god Janus. Janus is the god of transitions, duality, beginnings and endings. There is a Roman coin depicting Janus as having two heads: one looking toward the past and one looking toward the [...]

Self-Care Part 1

Over the past couple of days, I have been seeing a lot of signs about self-care. Conversations have been centered about self-care. The media hype is all about self-care. We even have an international self-care day (ISD). [For those curious it is July 24]. But what exactly is self-care? What does this term mean? What [...]

The Five Stages of Grief

So as many of you know I have been working through the grieving process. In sociology courses, we cover the five stages of grief as presented by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in her 1969 book On Death and Dying. Briefly, the stages presented in that book include: (1) denial and isolation, (2) anger, (3) bargaining, (4) depression, [...]

In Loving Memory

Angel blessings everyone. I thank each and every one of you who have allowed me time and space to start the grieving process after the loss of my mama. I thank you for prayers, well wishes, and condolences. It has been a very challenging time for me but I have gained some perspective. I believe [...]